2 Bedroom Oceanfront Condo

Kanaloa at Kona, Condo 3601 — Kailua Kona

35 reviews
Choose dates to view discounts and book

Your Stay: Kailua Kona

$149 - $299
Rates (Nightly):
Select Dates
Your Rate (Nightly):
3 Night Min.
[ Edit dates ]
Select Dates
You Save:
Select Dates
Checkout Cleaning:

View 12-month Calendar

Select Dates to View Discounts

View Availability Calendar

Have Questions?

Owner/Manager: Larry Shook

Phone: 206-251-5945

Email: larryshook@hotmail.com

Tax ID: W40368478-03

Policies

Air Conditioning is optional and you may choose to deselect it; however we strongly recommend that you include it in any reservation between June 1 and October 31.

A $250 security deposit is required with this reservation and we may process a credit card authorization in that amount prior to your arrival.  A charge may result for damage to the condo or contents, missing contents, excessive cleaning required after checkout or for exceeding the maximum number of overnight guests. 

Smoking is strictly prohibited in the condo or on the condo lanai and doing so will result in full loss of security deposit.

No pets of any kind are allowed. 

Check-in time is 3 PM and checkout time is 11 AM.  Please be certain to plan your arrival and departures days accordingly.

The reservation deposit is nonrefundable; however if cancellation is made more than 60 days prior to the check-in date, the full reservation deposit may be applied to a new set of reservation dates in the same condo beginning anytime up to one year from the original check-in date (subject to availability).

Cancellation made within 30 days of the check-in date results in loss of all payments.

Thanks for making this wonderful condo available to us. It was perfect for two couples. It was clean, well-outfitted, and had a terrific view of the ocean. Aloha Condos made the financial part of the transaction easy. We have rented vacation condos from them in the past and have always been pleased with the quality of their service.

A FlipKey verified reviewer from WA
14 Videos Inside of Kanaloa at Kona, Condo 3601 Resort Overview - Kanaloa at Kona Resort Entrance - Kanaloa at Kona Lobby of Kanaloa at Kona Main Pool - Kanaloa at Kona Adults Only Pool - Kanaloa at Kona Oceanfront Pool - Kanaloa at Kona Oceanfront Pavilion - Kanaloa at Kona Oceanfront Panorama - Kanaloa at Kona Tennis Courts - Kanaloa at Kona Kona Country Club - Adjacent to Kanaloa at Kona Heia Bay - Snorkeling adjacent to Kanaloa at Kona Kahaluu Beach Park - Turtle Beach - Kailua-Kona

1700 sq. ft. | 2 Bedroom | 2 Bath | Occupancy 4

  • Share this Rental

A pristine, well-equipped condo overlooking a hidden cove. Swim, snorkel, see turtles, reef fish and if the surf’s up, grab a board and hang 10! From the lanai watch dolphins and whales frolicing. Lovely furnishings and tropical art throughout. A king bed in the master suite and in the 2nd bedroom, the option of a king or twins. Make this secluded jewel your destination. A basket of local fresh fruit and goodies will welcome you on your arrival. See our 5-Star Reviews.

Features & Amenities

View/Location

  • Oceanfront — He'eia Bay and Ocean
  • Ocean View — View of pleasure & charter boats coming and going from Keauhou Bay
  • Mountain View — Plus lights at night and across He'eia Bay
  • Oceanfront Resort — Reviewers have said "Like walking in the Garden of Eden"

Amenities

  • Air Conditioning — Available on request (fee)
  • Kitchen - Full — Includes many condiments, seasonings, staples
  • Laundry - In Unit — Full-sized front-load Maytag washer and dryer
  • Pool - Shared (3)
  • Hot Tub - Shared (2)
  • Parking - Free
  • Parking - Covered
  • Iron and Ironing Board
  • Hair Dryer (2)
  • Paper Towels, Tissues, TP
  • Shampoo, Conditioner, Soap (2) — One set in each bathroom
  • Laundry Detergent — And dryer sheets
  • Parking - Off Street
  • Cleaning Supplies
  • Linens Provided — High quality

Suitability

  • Bedroom on Ground Floor
  • Handicap Access — Ground floor, 5 stairs to entry, wide doorways
  • Family-Friendly — And Senior friendly - Raised commodes & Shower bars
  • Honeymoon Spot
  • No Pets Allowed
  • Smoking Not Allowed

Activities

  • Day Spa - Nearby — Sheraton Hotel
  • Golfing Nearby — Kona Country Club surrounds resort, 2-18 holes courses with spectacular views
  • Surfing - Nearby — Kahalu'u State Beach
  • Tennis Courts (2)
  • Snorkeling - 1 Min Walk

Communication

  • Free Local Calls
  • Telephone (2)
  • Internet - Wireless [Free]
  • Desk
  • Answering Machine

Beds

  • King Bed
  • Twin/Single Bed (2) — May be converted to King Bed with advance request.
  • Pack 'n play — On request (no charge)-May also be used for crib

Entertainment

  • DVD — DVD library
  • TV - HDTV (2)
  • CD Player
  • iPod Port
  • Music Library — Also, extensive reading library
  • Ping Pong/Table Tennis
  • Boogie Board (4) — Children's Beach & Pool Toys
  • Beach Chair (5)
  • Beach Umbrella
  • Beach Towels (4)
  • Snorkeling Gear (2)
  • Board Games (6) — Or more

Outdoor

  • Lanai/Balcony
  • BBQ Grill [Gas/Electric] - Shared (4) — Close to unit

Kitchen

  • Cooking Utensils Provided — Reviewers say "We had everything we'd ever want"
  • Refrigerator - Full Size — Side by Side
  • Dishwasher — Very quiet
  • Microwave
  • Ice Maker — Filtered ice & water with in-door dispenser
  • Catering Available — From nearby restaurants
  • Blender — Many features - You'll love it!
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
  • Rice Cooker
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Crock Pot
  • George Foreman Grill

More

Room Descriptions

View

  • Incredible Bay, Ocean & Mountain Views
  • Pleasure & Charter Boats coming and going from Keauhou Bay
  • Surfers Riding Waves when Conditions are Right
  • Night Lights on Hillside & Homes across the Bay

Lanai

  • Spacious Lanai for Outside Dining
  • Spectacular Bay, Ocean & Mountain Views
  • Wet Bar with Granite Top and Mini-Frig
  • Comfortable Dining Seating for 6
  • Ceiling Fan & Light
  • Shared Lighted BBQ Grills Conveniently Located on Property (no BBQ on Lanai)
  • Drop Screen Sun Shades for added Comfort
  • Watch Sunrise with your Morning Coffee

Living Room

  • Tropical Design Sofa & Loveseat
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Coffee Table & End Tables
  • Two Decorator Lamps
  • 37 Inch Flat Screen HDTV TV
  • DVD Player
  • Select DVD's & CD's
  • Tinted Windows with Privacy Blinds
  • Library of Reading Material with Big Island Travel & informational Books

Entry Area

  • Secluded Private Entry to Unit
  • Only (5) Steps to Ground Floor
  • Entry Area is Directly off of Living Room with Tiled Floor, Seating & Storage Closet

Kitchen

  • Tile Floor
  • Beautiful Natural Koa Wood Cabinets
  • Recessed Lighting
  • Granite Countertops
  • Beautifully Tiled Backsplash with Custom Tropical Fish Insert
  • Brand New Jenn-Air & Maytag Appliances
  • Side-by-Side Refrig/Freezer with Filtered Ice & Water Dispensers
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Glassware & Dining Settings for 12
  • Oversize Sink
  • Extensive Kitchen Utensils, Bakeware, Serveware
  • Most Basic Cooking Staples Provided
  • Toaster
  • Blender/Food Processor
  • Coffee Maker
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Rice Cooker
  • Crock Pot
  • George Foreman Grill
  • Phone
  • Cleaning Supplies

Dining Area

  • Glass Top Table
  • Comfortable Dining Seating for 4
  • Tower Fan

Master Bedroom

  • California King Bed with Bench
  • Deluxe Mattress & Box Spring
  • Large 7-Drawer Dresser with Large Mirror
  • Two Bedside Tables with Phone
  • Privacy Blinds
  • Comfortable Occasional Chair
  • Decorator Reading Lamps
  • TV 
  • Clock Radio
  • Ceiling Fan
  • High Quality Bedding
  • Large Walk-in Closet

Master Bathroom

  • Tiled Surfaces
  • Double Lavatories
  • Separate Room with Bidet & Toilet
  • Extra Large Walk-in Shower
  • Window & Exhaust Fan for Ventilation
  • Wall Mounted Hair Dryer
  • Senior Friendly - Shower Grab Bars & Raised Toilet
  • Makeup Mirror Mounted inside Medicine Cabinet
  • Natural Koa Wood Cabinets & Mirror Frames

Second Bedroom

  • Twin Beds (may be set up as a King Bed on request))
  • Dresser with Mirror
  • Wall Mounted Reading Lamps
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Quality Bedding
  • Large Walk-in Closet
  • Privacy Blinds

Second Bathroom

  • Tiled Surfaces
  • Double Lavatories with Backsplash
  • Two Large Mirrors & Wall Mounted Makeup Mirror
  • Glass Enclosed Tub & Shower
  • Wall Mounted Hair Dryer
  • Senior Friendly - Shower Grab Bars & Raised Toilet
  • Natural Koa Wood Cabinets & Mirror Frames

Office

  • Ample Private Work Space
  • Two Desks
  • Wireless Internet

Laundry

  • Full Size Stacked Maytag Washer/Dryer
  • Laundry Supplies
  • Iron & Ironing Board

Layout

  • No Description Available

Location

  • Oceanfront Ground Floor of Building 36
  • Southwest Corner of Resort

More

Reviews

Tranquil Hideaway

Reviewed by RoniMac

Date 11/22/2014

My husband and came to Kona to decompress after our daughter's large wedding. The condo sits away from the main hustle and bustle of the resort with a great view of the bay and the Sheraton and out to the ocean. We only left the unit to snorkel and to a church service. The kitchen was well stocked and I was really impressed with the quality of the knives; best in any condo we've stayed. Only wish that there was a hot pot or a tea kettle. Rooms are large and airy and enjoyed just doing nothing. It is really private and nice that you cannot see any other neighbors. We could not hear anyone on the second level. My husband was impressed with the ice maker. Most places we stay do not have ice. There is a paper box located near the main pool. Tennis courts are in good condition and the three pools make it convenient for everyone. This is our second stay in the resort and will return to this unit.

Perfect Stay in Paradise!

Reviewed by MichaelandLeaCarey

Date 08/17/2014

This condo recently changed ownership. It was highly regarded when owned by the former couple, and the new owner has not skipped a beat. He is responsive, kind, and very helpful. We were due to leave the day that Tropical Storm Iselle was to make landfall. Our flight was canceled and we called to extend our stay. Mr Shook arranged for our extra day of stay and also had backup plans for another place to stay if our trip was further extended by plane issues. This particular unit is beautiful, very clean, and has all the extras that you'd want to enhance your trip. The view is incredible, overlooking a small bay. The sound of the crashing waves is music to our souls. The location of the complex is within walking distance of the piers where some great boat outings launch from. The employees on site were extremely helpful and kind. George, especially, was always someone we hoped to see at the entrance. This is my husband's and my third trip to the Big Island. This was, by far, our favorite place to stay. We will be strongly recommending Kanaloa at Kona, and specifically unit 3601. Following are some things you won't need to bring or purchase thanks to a well stocked home: High efficiency washing machine soap, boogie boards, any cooking or eating utensil you could possibly need, kitchen staples, and a cooler. There are games, puzzles, and movies to keep people occupied (especially parents while teen girls are primping--and teen girls while parents are sleeping!) The ceiling fans were quiet and very effective. I highly recommend the air conditioning in the summer (although we would personally get it no matter what time of year it was). I believe that if you're looking at condos then you are looking for a quieter and homier experience. You will not find a condo that fits the bill more than this one. Mahalo Mr. Shook and Kanaloa at Kona for making us feel like ohana!!

Beautiful condo, beautiful view, beautiful vacation

Reviewed by Travelqueen

Date 04/20/2014

This was our third stay at Kanaloa at Kona resort. This condo was perfect for us. It is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. There is a good view from the Lanai of the water and various activities that go on there, such as boating, surfing, etc. Amenities galore, such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion, fruit basket, water sports gear. Property location is great, away from crowds and traffic, right on ocean, 3 pools, bbqs, tennis. Stores nearby. Booking was seamless and simple. Visit their website - great videos of the condos interiors and exteriors: www.alohacondos.com

Outstanding abode for a trip to Kona!

Reviewed by Saul B

Date 10/15/2013

This place was home for us for a week during our recent trip to the big island in October. The location of this particular condo is extremely convenient to the entrance, the pool and clubhouse,tennis courts, bbq grill, etc. The view of the bay just below the lanai can't be beat, and provides a nice breeze and the great sounds of the ocean just outside your door. The unit itself was fully stocked with everything you could need down to the smallest details- kitchen stuff, bathroom stuff, washer/dryer, laundry soap, shampoo, etc. you name it. just show up with your bags and enjoy! The beds were comfortable and the two twins in the 2nd bedroom slide together to create another king sized bed- which was helpful for my brother and sister in law who joined us. we had 4 people in our party and the condo was spacious enough for all of us. The one thing that could have been a bit better is the functioning of the a/C unit. It may need servicing. It seemed to have a mind of it's own, sometimes working, sometimes not, even with all doors and windows closed. Overall though- this place is great- beats the heck out of staying at a high priced resort.

Manager Response

We're sorry that you had some difficulty with the AC during your recent visit. We came in two days after your departure and have used the AC ourselves almost every day since with no problem. It was last serviced May 2013, but we are having it looked at again anyway. For future reference our unit manager, Kaleo, may be called at any time there is an appliance malfunction. There is no charge for this service. We want our guests to enjoy a perfectly carefree vacation whenever they stay with us.
Stewart Berkshire, Owner

Best rental of our vacation!

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 08/21/2013

We had a great stay at Kanaloa at Kana, at the end of a quite street with a guard stand at the entrance. The main pool is crystal clear & the area had a resort feel - ping pong & tennis court easily accessible. Covered parking, a bit tight if you have a big car, well maintained, clean & safe. Outside our unit there was fresh banana, lime & mango trees filled with ripe fruits. Booking arrangements where super easy - Chuck at aloha Condos did all the work & emailed us everything we needed to know. The condos are close to everything which is another plus. Unit 3601 was perfect. This is a large 2 bedroom, 2 bath, unit. There was nothing we could want for. The owners made us feel like family having had so many amenities available to us. The stack washer/dryer came in handy allowing us to pack lite, plenty of linens, pillows, towels (bath&pool;) in great condition. Laundry & dish detergent was available, showers had a fresh bars & liquid soap & shampoo/conditioners in the showers. The pantry had plenty of stocked food items that made cooking in the unit very easy without having to buy all the little ingredients. They have all kind of kitchen trinkets/gadgets availble to use - even a coffee grinder to grind the fresh coffee beans that came in a welcome basket filled with fresh local fruit, jellies & crackers. Seriously it was like renting from family with all the little extra's, they really go that extra mile. The floors &rug; where clean, furnishings all new, up to date with that tropical beach flair, the beds are very comfortable & the Wifi is lighting fast! Plenty of outlets to charge all our Iphones /Ipads at night. The Lani was just amazing with the view of an ocean cove, complete with a wet bar & ceiling fan, we could sit for hours listening to the gentle slap of the ocean and the breeze thru the palm trees. We chose to have air conditioning during our stay and it made us very comfortable especially to sleep. I would recommend this option if you stay in august.

Such a wonderful place !

Reviewed by Elisabeth

Date 08/19/2013

We enjoyed very much our stay in condo 3601 in Kanaloa at Kona. The condo is nicely furnished and extremely well equiped. We felt at home right away. We very much appreciated the gift basket with local specialties at our arrival as well as all the little extras like the list of restaurants, the snorkeling gear, soap, shower gel, shampoo, laundry detergent, etc. (other owners don't supply everything!). The view from the lanai is wonderful and we saw turtles while snorkeling in the little bay.

wonderful condo with a great view

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 07/05/2013

The condo had a great view of the ocean. The condo was well equipped, comfortable and had a lot of extras that made our stay great. The washing machine with a little difficult to figure out how to operate. the condo property had great amenities and helpful a concierge. The property swimming pools were great.

Manager Response

We’re so glad you had a great stay in our condo and enjoyed the
outstanding view from our lanai. Although we have owned this unit for
many years, we are still enchanted by it ourselves. As you discovered,
the condo is provided with many unexpected amenities so that our guests
can enjoy as carefree a vacation as possible without having to rent or
buy items that will only be used during the short time they are visiting. We’re awfully sorry our new washer and dryer gave you a hard time, though. It seems that today’s manufacturers love to dazzle us with new models that seem to require an advanced degree to operate. We do have a book of manuals of operation for all appliances and electronics in the unit. This is located on the kitchen shelf right next to other information books, or you could call Kaleo, our local condo manager. He would be happy to walk you through the process. He’s very good at answering any need or question you may have about our condo. Thanks for staying with us.
Betty and Stewart Berkshire, Owners

An outstanding, peaceful place to stay right on the ocean

Reviewed by Iris

Date 01/13/2013

The condo was exceptionally clean, comfortable and well appointed to accomodate our five-person family. The lanai overlooked a bay of the ocean and was a delightftul place to have breakfast or read and relax. The kitchen was well appointed and the dishwasher and clothes washer and drier were very useful. An amplitude of towels, renewed daily, and of beach towels were supplied. The whole area was secure and safe to walk around in and enjoy the pools and the beach.

Perfect in Paradise

Reviewed by cdb

Date 12/29/2012

Condo 3601 in Kanaloa at Kona was great! You couldn't get a more picture perfect a accommodation overlooking a beautiful bay. The grounds, gardens, and pools were lovely and well-kept. The condo itself was very well-equipped with anything plus more that one would need for their vacation. The owners even left welcome gifts for us. The surreal sound of the ocean from the lanai was a comforting sound. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kanaloa at Kona 3601.

Absolute perfection!

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 07/28/2012

The condo and complex was everything we expected! The condo is exactly as you see in the video tour. It is beautifully decorated and immaculate. The condo is very private and even sitting on the lanai it seems as if the view is yours alone. It is plenty large for a family of four. The walk-in closets and large bathrooms were a bonus. Our girls, ages 18 and 21, commented that they loved the condo and location so much they would be willing to give up their separate rooms at home to live in this condo! Getting to the condo was easy thanks to the directions provided by Chuck. Check-in was a breeze. There was a wonderful basket of fresh fruit, jams, and Kona coffee from the local farmers market to greet our arrival. We can't even express how fabulous it was to eat breakfast on the lanai each morning and listen to the waves and watch the boats, kayakers, and snorkelers. Everything you could want is provided for in the condo and then some. In addition to all the snorkel and beach gear, there was a small ice chest and ice packs and even binoculars for taking in all the beautiful views. It was also very convenient to shopping, with a farmer's market on Saturday morning (there is another a bit farther on Wednesday). We highly recommend this condo!

Manager Response

We'd like to thank you Lynn, for taking the time to write such a glowing
review. We've put a lot of thought and energy into providing special
amenities at our condo so that our guests will really feel at home and enjoy their stay in Hawaii. Your review describing and appreciating so many of these features have made it all worthwhile.

Mahalo, Betty and Stewart Berkshire, Owners Kanaloa 3601

Excellent

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 07/05/2012

Nice location. Great View. Well furnished. Comfortable.Service was timely and adequate. If Chuch Buser had not handled the reservation so well I would not be spending my time on this review

We will rent 3601 again

Reviewed by Kim

Date 02/24/2012

This was our 6th time at Kanaloa over the past 7 yrs and all but once on the ocean. Unit 3601 is our favorite so far. The lanai faces a small bay that often had great wave action with lots of surfers to watch.There were snorkelers when the bay was quiet. The approach to the entry is very private and at ground level. Very nice landscaping. We like the floor plan of the --01 units. This unit was very clean,attractive,well equipped with updated kitchen.When we came in there was a basket of goodies waiting for us, a nice touch. We opted for a/C but could have done without. The unit building is immediately to the left of the property's entry gate and has dedicated covered parking as well as some open spots for visitors Everything worked,there is wi-fi and snorkel, beach towels, umbrella,etc available. Kanaloa property has 3 sets of pools,hot tubs,barbeques,changing rooms as well as lighted tennis courts and is over all quite attractive. It's close to markets,dining and golf. We had a good 3 weeks

Quiet and Beautiful

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 01/22/2012

Perfect place to stay on the big island!! You literally stay right on the ocean. Has great swimming pools and is a great place for families and couples that don't want to stay in just another hotel.

Everything you need

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 01/17/2012

This condo has it all. Mellow atmosphere. Great location. Wonderful view with big surf sounds. Clean and well equipped. Nice pool areas. Everything you need for a perfect Hawaiian vacation.

Awesome location, great condo!

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 01/14/2012

The condo is beautifully decorated and supplied. The location on He'eia Bay is wonderful. Couldn't ask for more. We'll be back!

A home away from home

Reviewed by TWO SISTERS

Date 11/02/2011

I loved the video tour because the condo was exactly the way you saw it. There was great communication and ease in going into the property. The home was warm and comfy with a view of a small bay. All the amenities were excellent and everything worked. I liked the location and view the best. The only thing is with 2 adults,not married, we needed a double bed in the other room in lieu of two twins. However, for a family or people who don't mind twin beds, this unit is ideal

Manager Response

We're happy that you enjoyed your stay in our condo while visiting Hawaii. However, we regret that you were dissatisfied with the twin bed setup. Under "Features and Amenities" our website offers the option of having either twin beds or a king-size bed in the guest bedroom. Even if you had neglected to make your wishes know in advance, our local contact here in Kona would have been more than happy to convert the twins to a king had he been notified. When you plan your next visit you may indicate your choice of bed configuration in the guest bedroom on the reservation and have it ready and waiting for you upon your arrival.
Stewart Berkshire, Owner Condo 3601.

Awesome spot, loud waves, beautiful condo

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 10/17/2011

One of the nicest places we have ever stayed. The lanai is perfect! It looks like this is a quiet beach cove in the pictures, and I was so pleasantly surprised to realize that the waves crash in below the lanai loud enough to hear throughout the living area of the condo. We loved it!!! Everything was perfect.

Perfect in Every Way

Reviewed by SKLN

Date 09/22/2011

My husband, 20-year-old son, and I loved this condo. It is gorgeous and incredibly spacious. Every morning I came straight out to the living room to enjoy the view. I opened the sliding glass doors to hear the ocean. The owners have provided everything a vacationer might need. Aloha Condos is excellent as well. I will rent through them on my next trip to Hawaii.

Could not be better

Reviewed by Dean B.

Date 02/10/2011

I can't tell you how wonderful this condo was. Everything was fabulous and could not have been better. We would absolutely return.

Awesome! - would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by Donna

Date 12/14/2010

This condo was top notch. the pictures didn't do it justice. It was beautiful, clean, private, quite and right on the ocean. the view from the lanai was gorgeous...you look right out at an ocean cove. It's a few steps to both pools and tennis courts. The drive into town was about 10 minutes. the drive to kona and snorkeling destinations was also about 10 min. There was no fault with this place at all. There was a *tinsy* bit of construction noise when at the pool by the ocean..but it was short. Pool by the ocean was incredible. Condo had many helpful books..hawaii sights and restaurant menus. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who would like a peaceful stay on hawaii. The rental process was also very easy compared to other places I stayed. I was blown away and plan to stay here again if i can! Seriously awesome...

Perfect vacation condo

Reviewed by Girl's Trip

Date 10/21/2010

Great condo. Very clean, well equipped kitchen. All the amenities one could ask for. The lanai was so great to sit out and have our breakfasts and dinners. Couldn't have asked for more.

Comfortable and Relaxing Condo For Family

Reviewed by PBarton

Date 09/27/2010

Unit 3601had everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing vacation. The beds were very comfortable. We did not need air cond. Pools were wonderful - the pool by the ocean is now open. We used everything - Bbq's, beach equipment, all linens (excellent quality), washer dryer, cooked over 1/2 our meals and sat on beautiful lanai, reference books - all was perfect! We are planning our trip for next year!

Quiet,Very nicely furnished and fully equipped,Beautiful View

Reviewed by Charles H.

Date 06/16/2010

We stayed here for a week celebrating our 50th anniversary. It was the perfect condo for us. It is located within beautiful grounds(my wife said it was like walking around in the Garden of Eden) with the lanai overlooking a small cove with the ocean waves breaking against the shoreline,sounds of a variety of birds,a quiet peacefulness, and private location.The condo is beautifully furnished with care and equipped with everything you could need or want.We would highly recommend.

Relaxing

Reviewed by Jim

Date 06/10/2010

Great Condo with great view. Condo is well appointed. Aloha group was helpful as well. Master bath sink plug broken. Master bath toilet flush broken. Neighbors in 3700 unit very noisy at 5 am. Overall- great stay. Jim

Manager Response

Thank you for calling our attention to these problems. Since your stay in condo 3601, the sink plug in the master bathroom has been re-connected. The defective part has been replaced.

The flush mechanism is no longer a problem in the master bathroom. The toilets have been upgraded to new raised, water-conserving Kohler commodes.

In the future, if there are any maintenance needs, please call our local contact person. He is very responsive and will arrange to have necessary repairs made immediately.

As for noisy neighbors, some people arriving from the mainland or other countries forget that they are in a time zone that is different from where they live. This can happen in any resort area. Kanaloa has regulations restricting noise between 10:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m. A call to Security will promptly summon someone who will politely inform the offending party.

Thank you again for your comments, and I am glad that overall, you enjoyed the many amenities provided for your comfort in condo 3601.

Stewart Berkshire, Owner, Kanaloa at Kona, Condo 3601

Great place to stay

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 05/20/2010

Thanks for making this wonderful condo available to us. It was perfect for two couples. It was clean, well-outfitted, and had a terrific view of the ocean. Aloha Condos made the financial part of the transaction easy. We have rented vacation condos from them in the past and have always been pleased with the quality of their service.

felt like home

Reviewed by campbell

Date 03/18/2010

loved, love, loved our week staying at this condo. we've traveled to kailua-kona several times and i'd like to start by saying the KTA grocery store up the hill has improved so much over the past couple years. you can get all sorts of local produce (much of it organic) and their prices are comparable; for the big island, at least. costco also has some great local stuff. that being said -- the kitchen in this unit was awesome! the appliances themselves all worked great (that blender was crazy!), but more so the way it was furnished was the nicest part. there were herbs and seasonings and extra paper towels and jars of various condiments were actually left in the fridge! they supplied cleaning products and rags and dish, dishwasher and laundry detergent. there was every gadget imaginable (took us a week to figure out what the pineapple corer was)! we weren't left needing a thing. it's very rare to visit a condo that supplies all those extras. the comforts of home continued throughout the unit. it was very clean, and while it didn't feel brand new, it was super cozy. plenty of space for 3 adults and a toddling 1-year-old. i had inquired about a crib before our trip for the baby and some rental companies were referred to me. those places are ridiculously expensive so i decided to just have the babe sleep with me. the owners took it upon themselves to purchase a play yard for the unit, and charged us a very fair rate for it. the extras continued all the way out to the lanai with a gorgeous view, a mini fridge for all the drinks and a closet stuffed full of beach chairs, pool toys, boogie boards and even snorkel gear. this trip was one of the most relaxing so far (as relaxing as possible with a toddler under foot). the pool areas are nice, the water was a little cold, but refreshing at times. the grounds were very serene all around. i would definitely recommend this condo to a friend traveling to hawaii. we hardly left, and can't wait to get back!

aloha Kanaloa

Reviewed by happy with Kona

Date 03/11/2010

The Aloha Condos were all we wished them to be. Our condo was exactly as advertised on the web, clean, modern, fully equipped, with very comfortable amenities. Of course, our location overlooking the crashing surf in the cove directly across from our veranda made our visit even more rewarding. I would recommend without hesitation, Aloha Condos, Kanaloa at Kona, to all our friends

Home away from home

Reviewed by Doug

Date 11/11/2009

What a beautiful well appointed place. Great location to do anything on the island yet not burried in the heart of a tourist trap area. Service from Aloha Condos was perfect, e-mails and directions were direct and informative, we will definately use their services again

We loved this beautiful, large condo with a great view.

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 07/29/2009

The condo was very nice, large, and clean. The grounds and pool were very nice. The condo was quiet and well stocked with everything we needed. The local contact was very helpful in coming over right away on our arrival day to help us turn on the A/C which is operated on a key lock. The view was wonderful over the bay and we enjoyed the many turtles that were there (even more than at Turtle Beach down the road). The condo is in a great central location and I would definitely recommend it.

Loved it

Reviewed by Snowbirds in training

Date 04/17/2009

I am a bit hesitant to write a review, for fear that the next time we want to stay here it will be booked. But to be true to the "aloha spirit", we have to say that this was one of our favorite places we have ever stayed. The condo is fully equipped with everything you might need (including some great books on local activities). It is also in a very quiet location, overlooking the ocean and a little bay where you can watch the surfers every morning while you drink your coffee. Hopefully we get back here some day.

Kanaloa at Kona, Unit 3601

Reviewed by heethar

Date 04/05/2009

My husband and I stayed in unit 3601 for a week in December. Although it was just the two of us, we opted for this unit because of the view and proximity to water. It did not disappoint. The lanai was a perfect spot to watch the waves, and had us thinking we could go jump in the water. As it turns out, the waves break hard at this location, so it was not ideal for me as a beginner. But the beauty and sound were enjoyed throughout our stay. This home is obviously loved, and the stocked kitchen was greatly appreciated. All the pots, pans, and accessories you could ask for, not to mention the spices, oils, etc. This resulted in us saving a bundle on dining out, and resdiscovering how much we enjoy preparing meals. We enjoyed the free wireless internet, which, along with the books in the condo, allowed us to do some research each day to make sure we had our plans straight. It also allowed us to stay in touch with the folks back home. The tile in the home is orignal, and is the only dated feature. By no means does it require replacement, but it does show the guests the period in which the condo was originally constructed. We enjoyed the pools on site, especially the adult only pool, which we would escape to if too many kiddos were playing at the main pool. We did not order from the resturant/bar at the main pool. They were awaiting their liquor license, and were serving a limited menu.

Kanaloa at Kona

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 04/04/2009

This was our second time to Kanaloa at Kona but our first time at this unit. It was very a relaxing stay...very quiet and private. We enjoyed our short 5 day stay and will definitely be going back for a longer period.

Lovely vacation

Reviewed by Tommy

Date 04/02/2009

This is a very well furnished, lovely condo. The view oc the ocean was fantastic, and so was the singing of the birds. We stayed here for ten nights, hoping to stay a lot more next time!

No Help from Aloha Condos

Reviewed by A FlipKey verified reviewer

Date 04/01/2009

Aloha Condos did nothing to make us feel welcomed. Our checkin instructions were not sent to us until we emailed and called several times before arriving. Once we got there we did not receive a welcome package, discribing the facilities, and no one at the front deck would help us because you are not a resort guest. "You're with Alohacondos, it's like a curse, no one will even talk to you. They wouldn't even let us have a map of the resort. When we called aloha condos about the information, we were told to look for a packet on the livingroom coffee table. I told them there was nothing on the table they said it should have been placed there but never provided the information. I would never rent from Aloha condos again. The owners were nice, they came and turned on the air conditioner (which costs an extra $15.00 a day) if they hadn't done that Aloha Condo Service would have charged us an additional $25. to unlock the thermostat. . Being right on the ocean was lovely. The pool and bar were enjoyable. The grounds were very nice. The apartment was adequate. Having the second bedroom bathroom in the hallway was inconvenient and lacked privacy. Dealing with Aloha Condos was very disheartening and total not in the Hawaiian spirit. DON"T GO ALOHA CONDOS

Manager Response

It's unfortunate that our guest didn't receive the information sent to them or contact us before their arrival saying that they didn't know how to check-in to the condo.

The check-in instructions were emailed 30 days prior to arrival, with a follow up reminder one week before arrival. Included in these instructions were specific details with directions to the resort, how to register with the security guard at the resort entry, and how to find and access this beautiful, privately-owned condo. Gaining access doesn't require using the Outrigger front desk as they only manage units in their rental pool.

The information guide was inadvertently placed on a shelf in the kitchen with other helpful guide books. These include appliance directions and menus from recommended restaurants and cookbooks. It is boldly labeled "Kanaloa Info".

Aloha Condos does not charge the guests for necessary services, including unlocking a thermostat. Guests can, and do, call and receive prompt and courteous personal attention for any concern they may have.

The floor plan is clearly shown on the website. Guests often comment on how they enjoy the spacious size (1500+ sq ft) of this unit, including the conveniences offered by the layout, not to mention its beautiful location on the little bay.

This review is quite unique and a surprise to us. The owner met the tenants when he came to turn on the A/C control and once again, as they were leaving. Both of these encounters were very cordial and complimentary in nature, with no complaints expressed.

We feel very fortunate to have received more 900 FlipKey reviews and thousands of verbal complements on how Aloha Condos truly conveys to our guests the Aloha Spirit that makes Hawaii a wonderful place to be.

Jim Dornfeld, President, Aloha Condos Hawaii
Stewart Berkshire, Owner, Kanaloa at Kona 3601

Kona Condo

Reviewed by purpledog5

Date 04/01/2009

A great place to stay on the Big Island. It had everything we needed. It was comfortable and away from town. We had a view of the ocean and complete privacy. We recommend it 100 percent. Thank you.

More

Layout(s)

Layout - Kanaloa at Kona, Unit 3601

Have Questions?

Owner/Manager: Larry Shook

Phone: 206-251-5945

Email: larryshook@hotmail.com

Tax ID: W40368478-03

Policies